2019 Conference

Our inaugural conference was held March 22-24 at the A. Alfred Taubman Center for Design Education in Detroit, Michigan and brought together speakers across four tracks: Ideas & Research, Arts & Communication, Entrepreneurship & Technology, and Activism & Governance.

List of Speakers

Video Highlights

Full Conference Agenda


Marcia Chatelain  – Provost’s Distinguished Associate Professor of History and African American Studies at Georgetown University

Aaron Marti  – Senior Lecturer, Irvin D. Reid Honors College, Wayne State University

Alex Ebert – Musician, filmmaker, and activist, Edward Sharpe and The Magnetic Zeros

Alex Tabarrok – Mercatus Center at George Mason University

Alexander Kustov – Postdoctoral Researcher in Politics and Policy, Princeton University

Alisha Holland – Assistant Professor of Politics at Princeton University

Dr. Amy Johnson – Fellow at the Center for Humanistic Inquiry at Amherst College, Affiliate at the Berkman Klein Center for Internet and Society at Harvard University

Ananya Chakravarti – Track Lead, Ideas + Research, RadicalxChange

Andrea Butelmann – Chairman of Butelmann Consultants and Director of the Masters in Applied Economics and Public Policy, Universidad Alberto Hurtado

Andrea Morales Coto – Design Lead, ConsenSys

Baratunde Thurston – Futurist Comedian, best-selling author and Cultural Critic

Beatriz Helena Ramos – Design Lead, ConsenSys – Futurist Comedian, best-selling author and Cultural Critic

Andrea Morales Coto – Founder, dada.nyc

Billy Zhe-Wei – Researcher, Public Digital Innovation Space

Boots Riley – Rapper, producer, screenwriter, film director, and activist

Bora Uyumazturk – Senior at Stanford University pursuing a B.S. in Mathematics and an M.S. in computer science

Calvin Hutcheon – Designer, Writer, BFA candidate at Maryland Institute College of Art

Cathy Guo – Steering Committee, Pravaha Trust / Founder & CEO, Dunya Labs

Charles Renfro – Recipient of WSJ’s 2017 Architecture Innovator Award, the Texas Medal of Arts Award, and National Academician

Dr. Cristina Caffarra – Vice President, Head of European Competition Practice at Charles River Associates

Colin Mortimer – Executive Director of the Neoliberal Project

Daniel Kronovet – Software Engineer & Cryptoeconomic Researcher

Daniel Stone – Associate Professor of Economics, Bowdoin College

Daniel Kronovet – Software Engineer & Cryptoeconomic Researcher

David Morris – Staff Writer and Books Editor at Breaker Magazine

Daniel Kronovet – Software Engineer & Cryptoeconomic Researcher

Devon Zuegel – Open Source Product Manager, Github

Edan Yago – CEO of CementDAO

Ehud Shapiro – Professor of Computer Science and Biology

Eva Beylin – Ethereum Foundation

Farhad Mohit – The Good Party

Fayrouz Saad – Economic development advocate, a community organizer, and a public servant

Fiona M. Scott Morton – The Good Party

Farhad Mohit – Theodore Nierenberg Professor of Economics

Glen Weyl – Political Economist, Social Technologist, Founder and Chairman RadicalxChange

Ingrid LaFleur – Afrofuturist, curator, Chief Community Officer of EOS Detroit

Jake Auchincloss – Newton, MA city Councilor-at-Large and Director of Product Development for Solaria Labs

James Felton Keith – Engineer, author, chairman of The Data Union

(James) Niels Rosenquist – Instructor on faculty in the psychiatry departments at the Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School

Janice Gates – Program Coordinator, Allied Media Projects, Equitable Internet Initiative

Jeff Lee-Yaw – Executive Director, RadicalxChange Foundation

Jennifer Lyn Morone – Artist, Activist and Design Researcher

Jeremiah Johnson – Policy Director of the Neoliberal Project

Jerry Paffendorf – CEO, LOVELAND Technologies

Jonathan Hui – Program Officer at The Kresge Foundation

Jose Parra Moyan – PhD candidate in Management and Economics

Jonathan Hui – PhD candidate in Management and Economics

Joseph Lambke – Director and Lead Architect at Animate

Joshua Shane – Head of Growth at uPort

Juliana Oliveira Domingues – Professor of Economic Law, Universidade de São Paulo, Faculdade de Direito de Ribeirão Preto, Brazil

Katherine Benton-Cohen – Associate Professor of History, Georgetown University

Kim-Mai Cutler – Partner at Initialized Capital, Good Governance advocate and former journalist

Lilia Chang – B.S. Candidate in Mathematical and Computational Science, Stanford University

Lucas Geiger – Co-founder of Wireline, Inc. and an evangelist of Web3 technologies

Lyle Jeremy Rubins – PhD Candidate in History, University of Rochester

M Eifler – Artist and Researcher at Microsoft

Mamie Rheingold – Entrepreneurship & Technology Lead, RadicalxChange

Margaret Levi – Director, Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences, Stanford University

Marielle S. Gross -Physician and Bioethicist, Johns Hopkins Berman Institute of Bioethics

Marina Finley – Co-Founder of RadicalxChange Students

Mark Lutter – Founder and Executive Director of the Center for Innovative Governance Research

Mary Ellen Carroll – Conceptual Artist, MEC Studios

Matt Prewitt – Deputy Director, RadicalxChange Foundation

Md Mizanur Rahman – Associate Professor of Gulf Studies, Qatar University

Michael Matheson Miller – Research Fellow and Director of Acton Media

Mona Hamdy – Partner at HamdyFont

Mwiya Musokotwane – CEO and co-founder of Zambia-based investment firm Thebe Investment Management

Natalia Olson-Urtecho – Co-Founder, Chief Innovation & Strategy Officer, The Disruptive Factory

Natasha Miller – Detroit, MI native, performance poet, LGBTQ activist, film producer, and founder of the “Artists Inn Detroit

Nathan Schneider – Journalist and Assistant Professor of Media Studies, University of Colorado Boulder

Nicole Immorlica – Researcher at Microsoft Research New England Lab

Patrick Long

Paul Tang – Member of the European Parliament and Dutch Politician

Primavera De Filippi – Tenure researcher at CNRS and faculty associate at Harvard Berkman-Klein Center, Robert Schuman fellow at the EU

Rahilla Zafar – Managing Director at Consensys”

Ramsi Woodcock – Assistant Professor of Law at the University of Kentucky College of Law

Rebekah Modrak – Professor in the Stamps School of Art & Design

Renee Diresta – Mozilla Fellow in Media, Misinformation, and Trust

Rhys Lindmark – MIT Media Lab

Robert Greene – Documentary Filmmaker, Editor and Writer

Ruth Catlow – Co-founding Director at Furtherfield, and DECAL * Arts Tech People Parley

Sam Hammond – Director of Poverty and Welfare Policy at the Niskanen Center

Sam Hart – Arts & Communication, Entrepreneurship & Technology

Saman Arbabi – Journalist and TV producer

Santiago Siri – Founder of Democracy Earth and Author of Hacktivismo

Sarah Friend – Artist and Software Engineer, CirclesUBI

Sarah Grace Manski – PhD Candidate in Global Studies

Simon De La Rouviere – Co-Founder & Advisor to Ujo Music

Stephen Squibb – PhD Candidate in English, Harvard University

Tamara Winter – Operations Lead at Center for Innovative Governance Research

Tawana Petty – Detroit Community Technology Project

Thom Ivy – Head of Growth & Community at Commonwealth Labs

Timnit Gebru – Research Scientist on the Ethical AI team at Google

Tristan Harris – Executive Director and Co-Founder of the Center for Humane Technology

Vi Hart – Mathemusician and speculative researcher

Vitalik Buterin – Creator, Ethereum

Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor – Award-winning author

Zoe Hitzig – PhD Candidate in Economics, Harvard University

Zooko Wilcox – Founder and Chief Executive Officer at Zcash